Library Advisory Committee Minutes of the May 8, 2015 Meeting

Present: Dr. Scott Breloff, Dr. Lori Bruch, Dr. Marzia Caporale, Dr. Tracy Collins, Dr. Carol Cote, Dr. Kathy Dwyer, Dr. Marian Farrell, Chair, Dr. Michael Fennie, Mrs. Sharon Finnerty, Dr. Terri-Freeman-Smith, Prof. David Friedrichs, Mr. Eugeniu Grigorescu, Dr. Teresa G.eTretretre2-6 T.1()]TJAssociate De Ben Willis Ms. Natalie Wentz, Prof. Donna Witek

Unable to attend: Prof. George Aulisio, Dr. Barry

The meeting came to order at 12:05 p.m.

On a motion by Dr. Breloff, seconded by Dr. Prat

Dean Kratz reported that the Library's acquisitio inflation on interdisciplinary databases that are to distribute to the departments. Teaching Enh Grants were the only other areas that received b Budget Advisory Committee again in AY2015/16

Task Forces that developed from the WML +10 r the Library available 24/7. This access is in respo seating options. There was also feedback on sea the 20

th Anniversary effort will be used for modest changes to make the second floor 24 hour accessible. Prof. Moylan reported that a new set of double glass doors, and a gate will secure the Circulation Desk area. A card swipe on the Galvin Terrace sliding door will provide entrance on that side of the building. The elevator will have shut off locks for upper floors so that those who are in wheelchairs can utilize the second floor.

Library Administration and Prof. Moylan met with Chief Don Bergmann on the strategic placement of cameras on the second floor. The Library had experi

Prof. Oldham announced the winners of the Library Research Prizes. The Graduate winner is Paula Annunziato. Graduate Honorable Mention goes to a group consisting of Caitlin Thompson; Antonietta Bruno; Carol Mastrosante; Meghan Durney. The Undergraduate Winner is April Francia. Undergraduate Honorable Mentions go to Alannah Caisey, to Christine Panzitta and to a group consisting of Dennis Cho; Rachel Conniff; Alexandra Crowley; Lauren Krasucki; Erik Meyer; Kaitlin Mulroy; Christina Nowack. Everyone is cordially invited to attend the reception on May 14th at 2:30 in the Library Heritage Room. Prof. Oldham thanked the Subcommittee for their time to read and review submissions.

Ms. Strohl summarized the options for revision of the Allocation formula: maintaining the current iteration with its cost of acquiring materials based on historical spending on either print or journals or revising the formula to one of three options. The first option is to revise the formula to use current costs for acquisition of materials rather than relying on the labor intensive current practice. The second and third options are using the historical or current costs, reserving \$500 for the allocation for each new programs before applying the formula then adding the \$500 to each of the departments with new programs. The revision recommended by the Allocation Subcommittee is using new programs as a fifth factor. PowerPoint slides from her presentation are attached. During the meeting, only the summary slides were presented.

Dr. Bruch, seconded by Dr. Freeman-Smith, moved that the Library Advisory committee adopt the 5th factor of new programs in addition to FTES, FTEF, credit hours and cost of acquiring materials for calculating the allocation to departments of funds within the Library's acquisition budget in those years in which the library receives an increase in its budget.66J/P & TdET/Span

Prof. Yarmey led a discussion on privacy as a core value in librarianship. The library is looking at its own internal data collection practices, model license agreements with vendors and advocating for privacy on campus. She invited input and feedback.

Dr. Farrell passed around a signup sheet for those who were interested in continuing to serve on the Library Advisory Committee.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:55.

Respectfully Submitted, Bonnie Strohl